Simple FPGA based Oscilloscope

 

Link to the project and bits, FPGA4FUN

 

Its a fun little project, the input stage is way too restrictive for it to be a really useful scope, however you could start pulling apart old analog scopes. I picked up the FlashyD with two inputs and the USB enabled version of the FPGA board, the Saxo.

Its a pity the site is mostly open sourceish except for a few of the more interesting projects, I did start to rewrite the scope control, if i finish it I’ll post it up..

I actually liked it better than the picoscope i tried, yes the picoscope can handle proper inputs but the speed and software was really poor. So for a DIY price ratio comparison the Saxo/Flashy can’t be beat.

 

The provided software.

Flashy_SoftwareTrace

 

This is mine.

DSC01915

2 thoughts on “Simple FPGA based Oscilloscope

  1. let me know if you get somewhere with this. i also know someone else that did some work trying to peel open this onion a bit. i might pick up the boards in the next few weeks to play with as well

  2. Hi,
    I got almost the same product. I use the flashyD with the Pluto3-Board and I’m almost happy with it. Did you modified or rewrite the scope control software? I would be very interested in that project.
    Best regards
    Eugen

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.